Establishing a new business or expanding to include the sales of beer, wine and liquor requires additional steps to ensure you have the proper license or permit to operate in the state of Texas. Each state and municipality issues the permits and have their own sets of rules and regulations. Many are uniform, but there are some specific differences that vary among the states. It can take a few months, but there is a way to shorten the time and guarantee positive results.
Recognizing the Need for a Liquor License
Any business that will be selling or serving beer, liquor or wine to the public has to obtain a TABC permit. This is the license that gives you the legal authority to sell alcoholic beverages. This is needed whether you plan to sell alcohol for one day or twenty years. It ensures that you are aware of the laws regarding the safe and legal distribution of alcoholic beverages.
The Process for Obtaining a Liquor License
The first step in obtaining an alcohol license is to make sure you qualify. You need to have a clean criminal record, be over the age of 21 and a US citizen. You will then fill out an application for the specific license you need. There is a BG permit that allows the sale and consumption on or off premises, MB permit for selling beer and wine to be consumed on premises only, Q permit to sell wine to be consumed off premises and the BF permit to sell beer, liquor and wine to be consumed elsewhere.
Understanding Texas Law and Alcoholic Beverages
It is important to understand all of the state and local laws before obtaining a license to sell alcohol. Non-compliance with any can cause serious legal repercussions for the business owner and seller of the specific alcoholic product. It is critical to research this well to ensure you will be in compliance.
Getting Help With the Licensing Process
There are expert consultants that can help cut through all of the difficult paperwork and get the license quicker. They are familiar with the legal end of the process and will make the process as easy as possible.
How Long Does the Licensing Process Take?
It normally takes up to 6 months or longer to obtain your alcohol license. Using a professional consultant can cut that time to 60 days. You can be selling or serving alcohol faster than you think.
Contact alcohol licensing experts like texasalcoholconsulting.com and get your TABC license in the shortest time possible.